Contact | Imprint | Deutsch



Cartographica Helvetica


Summary

The Matterhorn depicted in maps

Since the spectacular first ascent of the Matterhorn – and at the same time the first Alpine drama in Zermatt – took place on July 14th 150 years ago, this anniversary was chosen as the theme of this issue of Cartographica Helvetica. The Swiss Society of Cartography is taking advantage of this opportunity to present a historic cartographic publication on the occasion of the International Map Year.

The Valais had aroused the attention of historians and cartographers already in the 16th century. In his Cosmographia, Sebastian Münster published in 1545 in Basel a rich description of the Valais, supplemented by a topographic map in two sheets (Upper and Lower Valais) created by Johannes Schalbetter. However, Zermatt itself remained practically unknown, and until 1820 there was no known view of Zermatt and its surroundings. This can only be explained by the fact that this valley was left untouched by the routes used for travelling through the Valais and across the passes towards the north and south.

Thus, the young Englishman Edward Whymper initially came to the French Alps to draw sketches of touristically interesting places for the publishing house William Longman. With the first ascent by Whymper and his six companions on July 14th, 1865, and the ensuing catastrophe, a new epoch began for Zermatt. The media spread the news of this incidence across the entire world. But also Whymper himself contributed to the celebrity of Zermatt in his writings and illustrations, for example with his book Scrambles Amongst the Alps in the Years 1860–69 which he illustrated himself.

In the section entitled «Das Matterhorn kartiert» (The Matterhorn mapped), 40 maps or extracts thereof as well as panoramas and relief models will be presented. These were chosen according to different criteria such as significance, uniqueness, aesthetics and even inaccuracy. Each map includes bibliographic data, the production technique as well as a short comment. With a few exceptions the map extracts are reproduced at the original scale.

The Matterhorn was not yet explicitly recognizable on the first maps. Schalbetter (1545) named a certian Mons Silvius and next to it the Augstal Berg. However, this was an indication of the Theodul Pass which led from Zermatt into the Aosta Valley. Another map of the Valais by Anton Lambien (1682) showed – just as Schalbetter had – a prominent mountain symbol in a side view and named it Matter Dioldin h[orn], and for the first time the name Zermatt. Already two years previously in 1680, the Italian cartographer Giovanni Tomaso Borgonio had named the mountain M. Servino in his Carta Generale de Stati di Sua Altezza Reale. Another 100 years later Gabriel Walser (1768) named it Matter Horn alias Mons Sil=vius Germ. Augst Thal Berg and called the pass on the Theodul Glacier Pass in das Augst Thal. In the atlas by Joseph Edmund Woerl (1835/36), the Matterhorn od. gr. Mt. Cervin is described as 'inaccessible' and the Matterjoch as 'passable' in July and August.

Of interest are also the trigonometric and topographic surveying methods used over a period of 200 years to determine the exact height and position of the Matterhorn. Further sections deal with the unique geology of the Matterhorn and the utopian mountain railway projects to its summit.

Price: Switzerland CHF 25.–, Europe/Overseas CHF 28.– (shipping included). (order address)


© 1990–2017 Cartographica Helvetica (Imprint)

Logo Valid HTML 4.01 Logo Valid CSS

Kontakt | Impressum | English



Cartographica Helvetica


Zusammenfassung

Das Matterhorn im Kartenbild

Weil sich die spektakuläre Erstbesteigung des Matterhorns – und gleichzeitig das erste Bergdrama von Zermatt – am 14. Juli zum 150. Mal jährt, wurde dieser Anlass zum Thema des vorliegenden Heftes gemacht. Zugleich bietet sich damit für die Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Kartografie die Gelegenheit, im Internationalen Jahr der Karte eine kartographiehistorische Publikation zu präsentieren.

Das Wallis hat bei Chronisten und Kartographen schon im 16. Jahrhundert erstmals Aufmerksamkeit gefunden. Sebastian Münster veröffentlichte 1545 in Basel in seiner Cosmographia eine inhaltsreiche Beschreibung des Wallis, ergänzt mit einer von Johannes Schalbetter gezeichneten Landkarte in zwei Blättern (Ober- und Unterwallis). Zermatt blieb hingegen praktisch unbekannt und bis 1820 gab es von Zermatt und Umgebung keine einzige Ansicht. Dies kann nur damit erklärt werden, dass die damaligen Reiserouten durch das Wallis und über die Pässe nach Norden und Süden dieses Tal nicht berührten.

So kam auch der junge Engländer Edward Whymper anfänglich in die französischen Alpen, um dort als gelernter Holz-Graveur für den Verlag von William Longman Zeichnungen von touristisch interessanten Ort anzufertigen. Mit der Erstbesteigung des Matterhorns durch ihn und seine sechs Begleiter am 14. Juli 1865 und der damit verbundenen Katastrophe begann für Zermatt eine neue Epoche. Die Kunde von diesen Ereignissen verbreitete sich durch die Presse weltweit. Whymper hat aber auch mit eigenen Schriften und Illustrationen viel zur Berühmtheit von Zermatt beigetragen, zum Beispiel mit seinem Buch Scrambles Amongst the Alps in the Years 1860–69, das er selbst illustriert hat.

Im Kapitel «Das Matterhorn kartiert» werden 40 Karten ganz oder als Ausschnitte sowie einige Panoramen und Reliefs vorgestellt, die nach verschiedenen Kriterien wie Wichtigkeit, Einzigartigkeit, Ästhetik, aber auch Fehlerhaftigkeit ausgewählt worden sind. Jeder Karte sind bibliographische Daten, die Erstellungstechnik sowie ein kurzer Kommentar beigefügt. Die Kartenausschnitte sind mit wenigen Ausnahmen im Originalmassstab wiedergegeben.

Das Matterhorn war auf den ersten Karten noch nicht explizit erkennbar. Schalbetter (1545) nannte einen Mons Silvius und daneben den Augstal Berg. Damit war aber der Theodulpass gemeint, der von Zermatt ins Aostatal führt. Eine weitere Walliser Karte von Anton Lambien (1682) zeigt wie bei Schalbetter eine markante Bergsignatur in Seitenansicht und nennt diese Matter Dioldin h[orn] sowie erstmals den Namen Zermatt. Bereits zwei Jahre früher, nämlich 1680, hatte der italienische Kartograph Giovanni Tomaso Borgonio in seiner Carta Generale de Stati di Sua Altezza Reale den Berg M. Servino benannt. Weitere 100 Jahre später kartierte Gabriel Walser (1768) das Matter Horn alias Mons Sil=vius Germ. Augst Thal Berg und den Übergang auf dem Theodulgletscher mit Pass in das Augst Thal. Im Atlas von Joseph Edmund Woerl (1835/36) wird das Matterhorn od. gr. Mt. Cervin noch als «unersteiglich» und das Matterjoch im Juli und August als «gangbar» bezeichnet.

Interessant sind auch die trigonometrischen und topographischen Aufnahmemethoden, die während über 200 Jahren angewendet wurden, um die genaue Höhe und die Lage des Matterhorns zu bestimmen. Weitere Kapitel behandeln die einzigartige Geologie des Matterhorns und die utopischen Bergbahnprojekte auf dessen Gipfel.

Preis: Schweiz CHF 25.–, Europa/Übersee CHF 28.– (inklusive Versand). (Bestelladresse)


© 1990–2016 Cartographica Helvetica (Impressum)

Logo Valid HTML 4.01 Logo Valid CSS